Just Around the Corner

In less than five months, I will have a bachelor’s degree in liberal studies from Arizona State University. Yes, I’ve taken quite a bit of teasing about my program of study, but at the time I enrolled it was the best fit for me.  Either way, I’m graduating magna cum laude…how many people can say that?

It’s a bit surreal, to be honest. And unnerving. For so long, the focus in my personal life has been my education. The reason for staying at my job (which I do love but isn’t what I want to be doing for the rest of my life) has been to get my degree. I always said that when I graduated I’d make decisions. I’d choose a path. I’d move. I’d start living the life I really wanted.

Now that graduation is just around the corner, it’s scary. What do I want to be when I grow up? Where do I want to live? What is my true passion in life and how can I parlay that into a lucrative career.

And now, five months from graduation, I’m not any closer to those answers than I was five years ago when I started this journey. Older? Yes. Wiser? Most definitely. But closer to the answer? Not even close.

Leave a Reply

